Priest honoured with Education Award

Guwahati (Report: Matters India) – The Education Research & Development Foundation (ERDF), Guwahati, presented the ERDF Excellence Awards 2015 to 18 eminent citizens of Assam who played major roles in various fields and contributed immensely to the society.

Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi gave away the awards, January 20, at the University of Science and Technology, Meghalaya (USTM) at its Techno City campus located on the outskirts of Guwahati.

The Chancellor of USTM, Dr. Mahbubul Hoque, in his welcome speech, said that the ERD Foundation has constantly endeavoured to felicitate and encourage eminent personalities and to motivate people to carry on dynamic activities in diverse fields.

National president of the Conference of Religious Fr V.M. Thomas and Provincial Superior, Salesians of Don Bosco Guwahati and Chancellor of Assam Don Bosco University was the only priest among the ERDF award recipients.

Father V. M Thomas

Father V. M Thomas

The award was presented to Fr V.M. Thomas as acknowledgement of his contributions to youth development and education in the North East region for over 40 years.

The citation reads, “The award is presented for his outstanding contribution in building educational institutions and for motivating the youth for positive social transformation.”

Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi presenting the award said, “the awards are the appreciation of the hard work and dedication to the state and the nation as a whole.”

He lauded the sacrifices under taken by the winners and said, “many have become successful because they were able to challenge the situation.”

Last month (5th December), Fr. Thomas received Youth and Education Award 2015 from the Governor of Meghalaya state His Excellency V. Shanmuganathan. The award constituted by Christ International School, Meghalaya was in recognition of his passion and commitment to teaching, inspiring and nurturing the youth and students.

Other eminent recipients included Dr DN Buragohain, founder Director of IIT-Guwahati; Dr Nomal Chandra Borah, founder, GNRC Hospitals; Justice (Dr) Aftab Hussain Saikia, Chairperson, Assam Human Rights Commission and former Chief Justice of Sikkim and Jammu and Kashmir High Courts; DN Chakravartty, noted journalist; Dr Alaka Goswami, renowned gynaecologist;

Prof Monirul Hussain of the Department of Political Science, GU; Dr Nagen Saikia, former president, Asam Sahitya Sabha; Dr Bibhash Dev, former director, CDC, Assam University, Silchar; Dr Harsha Bhattacharjee, founder and medical director, Sri Sankaradeva Nethralaya, Guwahati; Prof Ali Haidar Laskar, former principal, SS College, Hailakandi; Dr Kamaluddin Ahmed, former principal, Karimganj College; Uddab Bharali, eminent innovator of North East India; Dr SI Ahmed, activist, NACO; CS Lama, founder, Assam Buddha Vihar, Anis Uz Zaman, poet and ex- APSC member, AK Pansari, entrepreneur and founder of the Royal Group of Institutions and DN Basumatary, Additional Director General (NER and EZ), Doordarshan Kendra and All India Radio, Guwahati.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *